6 July 2010–City of Grindavik   Leave a comment

So after the very interesting visit to the geothermal plant, we hit the small fishing village of Grindavik (63°50′0″N, 22°26′0″W). I think if I had to live in Iceland, this may just be the little town for me. But I don’t think I could live here so no worries there.

It was cold and windy today, but mostly sunny. The wind is killer off the ocean. It seems every little town is “just off the ocean”. The city limits encompass a fairly large chunk of territory (425 square K). The population is a little less than 3000 people.

The main income is fishing, but this place is mostly known for the saltfish. They even have a museum heralding their grand export.

Of course there is a lighthouse, but there is also remains of old saltfish curing areas and housing areas from the mid 1800’s. Of course, folks have been living here since settlement (around the year 940). Don’t laugh at my washed out photos. I loathe photo editing and can never seem to prepare my camera for the crazy changes in the sky.

You can click here for the rest of the pics of this little town. They are mostly of the waterfront and the ruins.

Posted 12 July 2010 by Angela in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a comment